Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other subscribers

Tough Minded. Tenderhearted. Transformed Nonconformist.

Mississippi Christians Respond to State Flag Issue UPDATED

July 10, 2015/Church and Community


South Carolina, the first state to secede from our Union in 1860, voted through its General Assembly Thursday night to remove the Confederate battle flag from its Capitol grounds. After the tragic murder of nine African American Christians studying God’s word in Mother Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal Church, South Carolina is leading the nation to come to terms with the legacy of the Confederacy and what it means for millions of our fellow Southerners. This noble and symbolic gesture is good for both business and politics. Moreover, it is a glorious moment for those of us who call upon the name of the Lord Jesus. What a testimony of justice and racial reconciliation, motivated by Gospel imperatives.

We, the undersigned, represent an interracial and interdenominational coalition of Christians here in Mississippi. We beseech Governor Phil Bryant, our brother in Christ, to do the right thing: lead our State in changing our flag. As Senator Roger Wicker wonderfully noted, now is our I Corinthians 8 moment: “The lesson from this passage leads me to conclude that the flag should be removed since it causes offense to so many of my brothers and sisters, creating dissension rather than unity.”

Mississippi followed South Carolina in seceding from the Union. As Christians in the Hospitality State, boldly exemplifying the love of Christ, we too can lead the nation in the moral courage to remove the Confederate symbol from our state flag. We are proud to be Americans, we love Mississippi, and as Christians we are also blessed to be citizens of the heavenly Kingdom of God. May we now raise a flag that represents the best of our shared future. We trust that our Lord, by the Holy Spirit, will lead you in making the righteous decision.

Amazed by God’s grace,

Rev. Dr. Isiac Jackson, Jr.


General Missionary Baptist State Convention of Mississippi

Canton, MS

Russell Moore


Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission

Southern Baptist Convention

Washington, DC

Rev. Dr. Joey Shelton

United Methodist

Jackson, MS

C J Rhodes


Mount Helm Baptist Church

Jackson, MS

C M Lewis


Mount Helm Baptist Church

Jackson, MS

Marvin J Johnson
Abounding Grace World Healing Church
Jackson, MS

Kimberly L. Campbell, Esq.
State Legislator/Mississippi House of Representatives
Member/Pearl Street African Methodist Episcopal Church
Jackson, MS

Rev. Loye B. Ashton, PhD (United Methodist)

Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Director of the Center for International Studies and Global Change

Honors Program Director

Tougaloo College

Tougaloo, MS

Reginald M. Buckley


Cade Chapel Missionary Baptist Church

Jackson, MS

Jefforey A. Stafford


Pleasant Green Baptist Church

Vicksburg, MS

Janice Taylor Ellis

Choir Director/High School Sunday School Teacher

Greater Mt. Calvary MB Church

Jackson, MS

Rev. Dr. Wesley Bridges
CEO/ Bridges To Cross Outreach Ministries
Silver Creek, MS

Maria Bridges


Bridges To Cross Outreach Ministries

Silver Creek, MS

Rev. Kenneth M. Thrasher
1st Vice President
Hazlehurst Branch NAACP
Hazlehurst, MS

Horace McMillon
Open Door Mennonite Church
Jackson, MS

Jesse Jackson


National Convocation of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada

Erica Holloway, Pastor
New Zion Baptist Church/Ministry
Jackson, MS

Rev. Michelle Shrader
United Methodist Mississippi Annual Conference
Central Methodist Mission Cape Town, SA
Missionary Pastor

Audrey Hall
Holy Temple Baptist Church
Jackson MS

  1. Artie Stuckey


Restoration Baptist Church

Jackson MS

Willie J. Mott, Jr.


Agape Christian Fellowship

Jackson, MS

Lexie Elmore


New Zion Baptist Church

Magnolia, MS

Je’Tua Amos


Macedonia Ministries

Byram, MS

Maxine Evans Gray
The Exodus Assembly
Jackson, MS

Tasha Dillon
Location Pastor
New Life Fellowship Church
McComb, MS

Derek T. Harris


New Life In Christ / Embassy International Fellowship

Jackson, MS

Kimberly Hilliard, Ph.D.


Faith4Life Church

Jackson, MS

Matt McGue


One Church

Ridgeland, MS

Donavon Thigpen

Associate Pastor

One Church

Ridgeland, MS

Susan H Lunardini


Chapel of the Cross Episcopal Church

Madison, MS

John A. Wicks, Jr.


Mount Nebo Baptist Church

Jackson, MS

Joyce Handy


New Destiny Christian Center Church

Jackson, MS

Willie Tobias, Jr.


Progressive Morningstar Baptist Church

Jackson, MS

Zachary Thaggard

Minister/Youth Leader

Lighthouse Ministries

Jackson, MS

Rev. Dr. Connie Mitchell Shelton

United Methodist

Jackson, MS

Cedric Morgan


Cade Chapel M. B. Church

Jackson, MS

Chauncy L Jordan, Sr.


Hill of Zion M.B. Church

Bolton, MS

  1. F. Robertson


Asia Baptist Church

Lexington, MS

Carlyn Hicks


Jackson, MS

Larry W. Ware


Bethlehem MB Church

Coffeeville, MS

On-line signatures as of 11 a.m. 7/10 Paul Brent Church of God in Christ
Billy Knight Catholic
Ozie Thomas baptist
Vera Bassett AMEZION
Shelia Handy A.M.E
Charles Williams None
Mohamed Jah Baptist
Willie Mannie Baptist
MaryJordan Smith Baptist
Benny Garraway United Methodist
Frederick Haskin Non-Denomination
Helen Govan Voie of Calvary Fellowship
Qualyshee’ Leggette Baptist
Felicia Scott Full gospel
Dorothy Stennis baptist
Waurene Roberson Methodist
Mackey Wright NonDenomination
Addie Jones bapist
Edgar Powell Non-Denomination
Claude Simpson Episcopal
James Powers Episcopal
James Simmons Baptist
William Gullette Baptist
Lawanda Bry Bapti
Betty Robinsob Methodist
Monica Miller Methodist
Otha Robinson Baptist
Henry Stewart Methodist
Phyllis Louie AME
Mary LeBlanc Baptist
Liza Rodgers Baptist
Willie Baker Baptist
Marha Walker Baptist
Fredrick Summers Baptist
Edna Forch Baptist
Brittany M Robbins Non-Denomination
Ray Wozniak Non-denominational
Clara Dancer United Methodist
Shelia Watson Baptist
Edward Whitfield A.M.E.
Marcia Weaver Lutheran
Oliver Ruff Baptist
Tracy Beals Methodist
Glenell Lee African Methodist Episcopal
Sylvia Blake Baptist
Clifton Marvel Sr. Baptist
Alonzo Lewis II Pentacostal
Jimmy Pruitt Baptist
Lottie Leaks Baptist
Mildred Hall Baptist
Jessie Pamplin Baptist
Charles Latham AME
Willie Porter Baptist
Jessie King Baptist
Florence Gaines Baptist

Comments (4)

  • Lena Jones / July 10, 2015 / Reply

    My heart is filled with hope and pride. Thanks, spiritual leaders for leading the way to a unified Mississippi.

  • Melishia Brooks / July 10, 2015 / Reply

    Melishia Brooks


  • Calvin Bogan / July 11, 2015 / Reply

    Calvin Bogan
    Minister and Musician COCHUSA

Add comment

Copyright © 2015 CJ Rhodes. All rights reserved.